I want to make a racket with POST-ROCK drum samples - any recommendations?

What's Hot
ijontyijonty Frets: 32
edited July 2021 in Studio & Recording
Hi folks

I'm looking for sample packs that would give me a post-rock sound (like Sigur Ros, Godspeed You Black Emperor, that sort of genre).

This is the kind of thing, but of course I'm always keen to see if I can save cash with something in the public domain. Does anyone have any recommendations?

If I was a pro, I could maybe make these sounds myself. But sadly, I'm a total amateur and any attempt to do anything from reverb upwards ends in failure! J

Telecaster American Deluxe, Cornell Romany amp, without the talent to use them properly
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• andy_kandy_k Frets: 818
    Surely, that pack fits the bill perfectly, just bite the bullet.
    OTOH, try layering something like LABS drums with either SSD5 free, or MTpower drums (free), to get something.
    It will sound a little weird, IMO, if you don't add some reverb post anyway, at least to the bass, and something like Valhalla supermassive (free) can add some very interesting verb to glue it all in the same space.
    If you are specifically looking for the more unusual damped, brushed, bowed stuff, the pack might be good value.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • duotoneduotone Frets: 972
    The cheapest place I have found Toontrack packs is from Time+Space. https://www.timespace.com/products/toontrack-ezx-post-rock

Probably worth getting it for the £39 & adding the separate drum midi pack & you should have a lot of bases covered. https://www.toontrack.com/product/post-rock-grooves/

Obviously you need to have a Toontrack EZ Drummer plugin for it to work & play through.
  • ijontyijonty Frets: 32