Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Affairs of the Heart

What's Hot
Ok when I was 17 (1991) and earnt my first pay check working in Tesco I went to a guitar shop in Yeovil that our very own @Koneguitarist used run.

There I bought my first "real" electric guitar. A bright red Epiphone SG with a bolt on neck!!!

I bloody loved that guitar and it's what I learnt all my Gilmour solos on, really I learnt my craft on that guitar, even though by today's standards it was a crock of shite. I remember going off to uni a few years later with it over my shoulder with my little park amp in tow and spent many a drunken, stoned night playing and "writing" songs in the halls of residence.

When I graduated and cleared all my gear out my missis came up with her car to help. I walked out of my halls with the ol' SG slung round my neck so I could carry more bags and the amp. At the car park the strap failed and the SG crashed onto the Tarmac body First in the area where a jack socket is on a les Paul. I was mortified but my missed matched up the colour (roughly) with one if her nail varnishes and we patched her up until I sold it in about '97 to buy more drums. I sold it to a guy in a Weymouth guitar shop for £90 - and never really though about it again

Until today

When I walked into my local shop and on the 2nd hand wall was a bright lipstick red Epiphone SG, just like my old one. I took it down to see how it felt and as I flipped it over.......

Well you can guess, a familiar nail varnish repair plus the extra washers on the Jack socket that my dad fitted to stop it coming loose

She has returned. However the shop wanted £140 for it which as I recall was £30 more than I paid for it new in 1991!!