Tell me what's bad about a Yamaha THR10 v2

What's Hot
I'm considering one for playing quietly/late and/or as part of a stereo rig with my main amp - I can really find nothing wrong written about the THR.

I'd be connecting it either to headphones , or to a pretty nice Onkyo amplifier with CA speakers (i.e. just not shit-tier hi-fi) and would mainly be using it for sounds my main amp doesn't give (i.e. high gain 'classic' metal, American-style distortion, etc.), as well as an occasional 2nd amp for a stereo sound.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• As an aside, would a Helix (LT?) be a better substitute if I had the cash?
  • ChuffolaChuffola Frets: 2026
    There will now follow a series of contradictory opinions - as with everything. The THR10 is pretty marmite - I loved mine (the 10c especially) but others find them too "hifi" or like an iPod dock.

I think they are great for a living room solution, but others find the Blackstar ID Core range better (I didn't).

Not sure what it would be like as part of a stereo rig - think you'd be better off with a small "normal" amp for that.
  • simonksimonk Frets: 1467
    I think they're great for home use - love my 10c. Positioned appropriately they sound excellent IMO, although there are a few here who haven't got on with them.

Different beast entirely to a Helix though as I'm sure you're aware.
  • ChuffolaChuffola Frets: 2026
    Oh. And, definitely, the Helix will be better in every conceivable way, if you have the cash!
  • @Chuffola  - the sale of my Scarlett 2i4 and Rode NT1a could mostly fund a 10c (well, as much as it matters) - so Hi-Fi into a DAW is perfectly fine.  What are the main criticisms? Just the complete lack or trouser soiling girth?

@simonk - reading the Helix thread it seems to break down into an issue of how people expect a 'huge amp sound' to sound, and being played at a quiet volume is unpalatable to some?

• SassafrasSassafras Frets: 30301