Splitters - WARNING Noobie question :)

What's Hot
hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1822
I've been told that a splitter or something like a SUM to MONO device is a powered device i.e. Active one doesn't need to have a phase switch. Is that true? Doesn't seem correct to me ... but I am a novice about these things LOL
Link to my trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/59452/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72414
    You can have active or passive ones. Whether it needs a phase switch depends on what you're trying to split or sum, into what.

There's also the question of whether it needs a ground lift switch...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1822
    ICBM said:
    You can have active or passive ones. Whether it needs a phase switch depends on what you're trying to split or sum, into what.

There's also the question of whether it needs a ground lift switch...

Split the signal into two amps @ICBM . Are their other scenarios except for a wet dry amp set up etc? On my sum to mono splitter it does have a ground lift and a phase switch, not that I've had to use them yet though. I ask as I've seen some splitters not having either of these and thought it would be quite rudimentary?
    hotpickups said:

Split the signal into two amps @ICBM . Are their other scenarios except for a wet dry amp set up etc?
    Two amps - amp and DI - parallel FX chains.