Anyone got any experience with Birkbeck?

Drew_TNBDDrew_TNBD Frets: 22445
I'm contemplating my life options, and one of those is part-time studying. I'm looking at Birkbeck and was wondering if anyone had ever been or had any experience with them?

Is a degree from Birkback or other part-time/night-school institutions a worthwhile pursuit - more accurately, are they worth more than shitty BA from Middlesex university!?! Depends on the subject I suppose.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mellowsunmellowsun Frets: 2422
    edited May 2017
    Yes.

First, I did a Diploma in Web Application Development at Birkbeck some years back. Completely modular so I could fit it round work. It turned my life round tbh - I earned a good living from the skills I learnt during the course.

Then the following year I did an MSc in Computer Science there, part time, 3 evenings per week. That led to my PhD and a career in machine learning/NLP.

Like any course it is what you make of it - you won't be spoon fed. But the fees are reasonable, you get access to all the University of London resources, plus benefit from a student card with the associated discounts etc.

Birkbeck is very highly regarded as it is the place where motivated career-changers or professionals updating their skills go to study. There isn't really anywhere else like it.

Way better than Middlesex I reckon (I also did a few short courses there, bit of a waste of time tbh)
  • MattBansheeMattBanshee Frets: 1498
    My other half is studying part-time with them (psychology and neuroscience) and all seems to be well.
  • SporkySporky Frets: 28415
    They have on occasion been a customer of my employer.

They have, I believe, about the best reputation for part time degrees.
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
  • KebabkidKebabkid Frets: 3311