Think bike, think biker...

What's Hot

Comments

• cruxiformcruxiform Frets: 2568
    edited June 2017
    cacophony said:
    cruxiform said:
    I wish more would. I was out riding this morning and it appears I am invisible, which is surprising as I'm an 18 stone bloke on a 1200cc motorbike.
    you see, i would counter that by saying, that surely it's us car drivers that are invisible?. that can be the only rational explanation as to why as i sat in the road with my indicator going, waiting to turn right into a side road,a man on a motorbike decided to overtake me at about 50mph just as i commenced my turn, then after i slammed on my brakes and applied quite a bit of pressure to my horn (ooh-err), he turned round in the saddle and gave me the 'wanker' sign. but wait, that means i can't be invisible as he could clearly see me. hmmm... that doesn't make sense...
    I'm a car driver too as well as ride a bike. All I can say is that I have more near misses on the bike than I do in the car. It's not because I'm riding like a loon. In fact the reason they are near misses is because I ride defensively and can anticipate car driver's actions. Otherwise they might be incidents. When driving the car I always do a quick lifesaver look over my right shoulder before any right hand move. Not sure if they teach that in the current driving test but I think they should. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • HeadphonesHeadphones Frets: 992
    Never quite understood the inabilty of (poorly trained c/w most riders) drivers to see a bike - unless the rider wears a dayglo jacket and has a white fairing...

That looks at a glance like plod.

Remarkably selective vision, car drivers.

Now, if it was a prerequisite to a car test was a bike licence...

I rode a white R80RT for a while, having previously owned a smoke red R100RT.
  • prowlaprowla Frets: 4942