Why do people leave everything to the last minute?

What's Hot
MyrandaMyranda Frets: 2940
Well... me too...

Third year (this year) of my degree is an Industrial Placement year - now I'm partially to blame because I um'd and er'd because the plagiarism nonsense early in the year (requirements for all the roles are "predicted a first" and I had a zero until it was sorted out) - but the companies that I'm applying to are still at the pre-interview stage (except one). So I occasionally get an email asking for further information.

The only one place that is post-interview is the lab I've been working part time for - they interviewed me last week, then gave me the job (The lab post is my back-up so I'd have a Placement rather than not, as it's ostensibly general IT work, the other vacancies are security or forensics posts), and they left things late enough that the start date is next week.

So, while I have a job for a year I'm also a bit fudged - I start with my old boss as my new boss in a few days - a boss that I want to be my part-time boss again for the final year so I'm not totally poverty stricken like my first year... and there might come a time in the next few weeks where a position that is specific to my degree becomes available... 

If these companies got back to me weeks ago I could have made a decision before starting somewhere that leaving might risk the burning of a bridge

Actually I'm double fudged - I'd budgeted for travel and food based on being at work 6 days between now and pay day now it's 10 days at work... and I don't have the funds left for two weekly season tickets... again with a month or two's notice I'd have been able to set aside money better. But a week and a half was all the notice I had and I only really thought about budget issues last night

Erg!
1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• GassageGassage Frets: 30927
    I'll reply later.

*An Official Foo-Approved guitarist since Sept 2023.