Late 90's Gibson's - what do you think?

What's Hot

I have a '97 SG Special as a knock around guitar (I'm a Bassist). I like the feel and resonance of it more than the modern ones I've played, and a couple of mates have said that the late 90's is a great period for Gibson. I've nothing bad to say about the new ones, just preferred my one even though it's relatively new to me.

I guess a lot of that is 'each to their own' and I know that you can get good ones / bad ones from any period, but I'm still wondering what you folks make of the late 90's ones compared to later ones, in your experience?

Thanks.

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TeyeplayerTeyeplayer Frets: 3281
    edited August 2017
    I'd say they are generally good solid guitars -I've a 97 les Paul special and it's a fantastic workhorse. I've had more recent Gibsons that I've flipped and ones I've tried that I wouldn't have touched with a barge pole. However, I think that means I just haven't found one I gel with, as with all brands and eras there are no hard and fast rules. Each guitar is after all unique and you can be sure that in every batch there will be a couple of amazing guitars, a few dogs and the vast majority will be ok and entirely dependent on who picks them up and how they are played. It comes down to that old rule that is so difficult in an internet led age -try before you buy.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • guitars4youguitars4you Frets: 14460
    edited August 2017 tFB Trader