Advice on matching pedal volumes

austint01austint01 Frets: 20
I've been gigging for a few years now and I still can't manage to get my volumes right between various levels of gain. I'm aware of gain staging and have watched the informative TPS show on the subject. Amp headroom, EQ curves etc.

I've got a blackstar artisan 15 (with a G12H). Because it's a seriously loud amp I have to keep the volume down and get my "almost clean" from a Looking Glass. Rock crunch is a Marvel Drive and a Bad Monkey for solo boost. 

It should be simple but I find the clean is either too loud or quiet depending on the song and how much the band are giving it. I know my guitar (McCarty) has a volume control but it sounds spankiest on 10. Same with the crunch tones. Sometimes they get a bit buried and sometimes I can't get the gain level because I gave to back off to match the volume.

I feel like I'm always fighting it. What am I doing wrong?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MikkiMcMurdererMikkiMcMurderer Frets: 352
    edited August 2017
    I suggest a compressor pedal to reduce the dynamic differences between clean loud chords vs quieter  single notes. 1st in line and leave always on with a lowish threshold 
  • I've been through this before. I had the empress and found it made the amp (fender hrd at the time) clip in a bit of an unnatural way. Maybe the blackstar will cope better.

I prefer them after ODs though, before kicks the gain of the pedal too much and I feel I don't have any dynamics at all.

Might have to revisit compressors again. I think it will be my 4th time lol.
  • steamabacussteamabacus Frets: 1268
    A volume pedal (after all your drives/boosts/etc) might be the way to go.

I always like to set my amp a little louder than needed and then knock it back a bit with a volume pedal. It allows me to ride the pedal up or down a bit depending on band dynamics.
  • BeexterBeexter Frets: 614