Fixing guitar strap button

What's Hot
danodano Frets: 1594
The screw which holds the strap button into my tele has slid out and can't be screwed back in.

Any recommendations for the best way to fix it back in ? Superglue, wood glue etc ?.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• guitars4youguitars4you Frets: 14300
    tFB Trader
    cocktail stick and wood glue - clean out any debris first if you can - dip the cocktail stick into the glue, don't be shy on any excess - subject to size of the hole will determine if you need one or two stems - break of excess - now screw it in before glue is dry so it pushes glue/stick to the outside to bond with guitar body - then leave well alone for a couple of hours - wipe up any residue of glue
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 6reaction image Wisdom
  • JerkMoansJerkMoans Frets: 8794
    I got a used jazzmaster for my daughter with a MASSIVE screw half holding the strap button. Removed it to find a cavernous hole. Stuck wood filler in, left it to dry, gently sanded excess away, drilled narrow pilot hole and replaced strap button, which hid the work nicely. 
    Inactivist Lefty Lawyer
  • underdogunderdog Frets: 8334
    I done the cocktail stick fix described above the other week and has held perfectly since. 
  • GadgetGadget Frets: 895
    I match stick works just as well, if you don't have lardy-da cocktail sticks around ;)
    I think, therefore.... I... ummmm........
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72425
    cocktail stick and wood glue - clean out any debris first if you can - dip the cocktail stick into the glue, don't be shy on any excess - subject to size of the hole will determine if you need one or two stems - break of excess - now screw it in before glue is dry so it pushes glue/stick to the outside to bond with guitar body - then leave well alone for a couple of hours - wipe up any residue of glue
    This.