5E3 no cathode voltage mystery - PLEASE HELP!

What's Hot
I've just finished building a 5E3 circuit (it's my third, and around my tenth amp in total, so I'm not a complete beginner) and there is only 0.2 VDC across the 250 ohm 6V6 cathode bias resistor.  There is sound, but it is like a transistor radio - distorted, quiet, weedy.  All the other voltages are very high (458vdc on the plates, 429 on the screens, and proportionally the same down to the preamp).  I'm using a Hammond 291BEX, which is rated for Deluxe Reverb as well as Tweed Deluxe,but thought the 5Y3 would bring them down lower than this.  I was planning to run 6L6s in it, so the high voltages aren't necessarily a problem (I think?!).

However, the cathode voltage is completely mystifying, and definitely the source of the problem.  Here's what I've tried so far...

A different resistor;
Clipping the bypass cap out of the circuit;
Grounding the resistor in lots of different places;
Reflowing all solder joints;
Other valves.

None of these have made any difference.

I am DEFINITELY never building an amp ever again (I don't know why I even started this one - it just gets on my tits) but would very much like to get this working, as I suppose it's going to have to be a keeper.  (Also the cab I made looks really nice).  So, if anyone can help I will be eternally grateful.

Cheers,

Paul

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Modulus_AmpsModulus_Amps Frets: 2583
    tFB Trader

Photo's?

No voltage means no current flow, so something is not connected, connected to the wrong place or is the wrong value, if you have voltage at the plate pins and screen pins then the list below will likely solve your issue

Check that the 250ohm resistor actually measures 250Ohm
    Check that you actually have the 250Ohm resistor grounded to the first filter cap ground point
    Check that the bypass cap on the resistor is the right way around