Amp Maker tweed kit

What's Hot
GoldenEraGuitarsGoldenEraGuitars Frets: 8823
About 9 years ago I bought a PP18 amp ready made off eBay. It cranked it using a Marshall PB100 and it had the most amazing tone. 

I always regret selling it if I’m honest.

Fast forward to now and I have a Marshall JMP but I’d like a small test fender style amp. 

Now, I know ill get shot for this (I’m not technically minded on amps at all) but is there any harm in sitting down with this to build it?

http://www.ampmaker.com/store/WF-55-4w-tweed-style-amp.html

£130? Why ever not? I’m assuming the instructions are Scott-proof so is this a wise undertaking (pardon the pun) or is it a really bad idea?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WezVWezV Frets: 16716
    edited December 2017
    Its a good safe introduction, with good support if you struggle.

I just found this pic on the site with  the hohner mini V conversion I did for Barry

• Adam_MDAdam_MD Frets: 3420
    I’d love to try an mapmaker kit but I’ve been waiting on the p1800 coming back into stock for months.  I’m not confident enough with an amp to just build from a schematic which is why I haven’t ordered one from modulus or the other amp kit companies.  I want the noob instructions for my first one.  
  • ThorpyFXThorpyFX Frets: 6189
    tFB Trader
    Vibeotronic the UK importers of BYOC stock their version of a tweed amp kit. I’ve built several and they are so much fun to build, but more than that, they sound fantastic. 

http://www.vibe-o-tronic.co.uk/products.php?brand=1&type=13
    Adrian Thorpe MBE | Owner of ThorpyFx Ltd | Email: thorpy@thorpyfx.com | Twitter: @ThorpyFx | Facebook: ThorpyFx Ltd | Website: www.thorpyfx.com
  • I've built that kit - it's very easy - and you get a champ copy at the end. Go for it you will enjoy it!
  • bbill335bbill335 Frets: 1379
    Does anyone do an affordable/available  kit of the slightly less common tweeds like the harvard (5f11 I think)?