Advice on connecting looper

What's Hot
itmitm Frets: 1
I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to FX (and guitars TBH!), and am having a problem adding a looper to my setup.

The problem is that, depending on where I insert the looper in my FX chain, it either generates extremely loud hum/feedback or does not function as a looper (i.e. it does not loop/playback as it should).

In this scenario I get very loud hum/feedback but the looper functions correctly:
Guitar->Wireless transmitter/receiver->Digitech Trio->Ammoon Looper->Behringer V-Amp 3->Alesis MultiMix 6FX mixer->Powered speakers

In this scenario I get no hum/feeback, but the looper does not function at all - it just passes the signal up the chain:
Guitar->Wireless transmitter/receiver->Ammoon Looper->Digitech Trio->Behringer V-Amp 3->Alesis MultiMix 6FX mixer->Powered speakers

Can anyone enlighten me as to why the looper doesn't function correctly in the 2nd scenario?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TeetonetalTeetonetal Frets: 7810
    edited December 2017
    Pluggd into the trio incorrectly? How have you got it running into and out of the trio.

Have you got the looper level up? You need it to hear the loop
  • itmitm Frets: 1
    Pluggd into the trio incorrectly? How have you got it running into and out of the trio.

Have you got the looper level up? You need it to hear the loop
    Doh! I had it plugged into the control (footswitch) input of the Trio. How embarrassing....

So now I have it plugged into the Trio's guitar input and the looper works fine but I've still got a significant amount of hum. Could it simply be a noisy power supply for the looper, or is there a more optimal way of connecting the looper into my chain which will minimise hum?
  • Is the looper on a daisy chain with other pedals? If so, try it with its own dedicated psu or battery if possibe (battery only to test as it will eat it.)