Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Gone back to valves

What's Hot

Comments

• KeefyKeefy Frets: 2286
    I've been playing valve amps live for over 20 years. In the early 2000s I used a Boss GX700 to model different pre-amps into the FX loop return of a valve combo, but I've definitely had more satisfying sounds since I went back to analog pedals into valve amps.

For recording, digital modelling (in the form of a Zoom pedal) is one of my options.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • dindudedindude Frets: 8537
    edited February 2018

Both have their merits, but valve amp and pedals has always given me more pleasure.

I think a lot of it is volume related these days. Lots of play at home guitarists (like me), and gigging volumes have reduced, PA's got better - this has levelled the playing field and made digital a real consideration against a valve amp barely ticking over with a pedal in front.

But whenever you hear a loud amp cranked, it reminds me of why we are all here, and digital is still nowhere near this IMO.

There's a clip on You Tube I was listening to last night of Mike Landau playing an unaccompanied version of Little Wing, he unleashes a fuzz pedal half way through and, if there was a god, this would be his voice, it's an astonishing sound. That sound just can't be had with digital, and also without ear bleeding volume unfortunately.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • DominicDominic Frets: 16099
    Boutique Valve Amp v Helix v Kemper.............
     Apple v Orange
     Pasta v Pizza
    ...................The point is that there is no "better" and no categoric yardstick to measure by. They are all good but all DIFFERENT........