Les paul - arm pain

What's Hot
blackblack Frets: 74
hi all - I've had a very nice les paul custom for a number of years that I have an on/off relationship with. But it's a cool guitar and I really want to try and like it.

just recently ive given it a proper go, out of case, new strings, fretboard oiled, action and pickup height sorted, the works.

however I'm a home hobbyist guitarist and play mostly sat down - having used the les paul exclusively over the last couple of weeks I find the upper bout is digging into my forearm and actually cutting off circulation to my hand, or certainly making my wrist and hand ache at any rate.

Is this just me being weird or have other people experienced the same. Or should I just stand up?

thanks!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• grungebobgrungebob Frets: 3323
    I can’t speak for all but it’s certainly one of the reasons I personally don’t like les Pauls. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • blackblack Frets: 74
    Makes you realise what a genius design the stratocaster is!
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • ArchtopDaveArchtopDave Frets: 1369
    edited March 2018
    Probably unfair to blame the guitar. Much more likely that you're applying too much pressure with your arm. In terms of playing a solid body, I play Les Pauls almost exclusively, and have never managed to block off my arm's blood supply.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24808
    I’m currently contemplating buying my 5th Les Paul. As a Strat player - they just feel ‘so’ wrong - but having tried many options, nothing else really sounds like one.

I gigged one in the ‘80s and found that when I was standing, the ergonomics weren’t too bad. Seated, it was a very different story.

If you really want ‘that’ sound - I’d recommend you persevere with it.