Soldering iron...a request

What's Hot
What good quality soldering iron would people on here recommend please?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Hakko fx888d soldering station is what I use, variable power and bright display (so you don't leave it on!) ... they're not cheap but I wasted a lot of money on rubbish before I finally stumped up for it. Should say, I'm no soldering expert, but this one works for me  :)
  • Adam_MDAdam_MD Frets: 3420
    What are you primarily going to use it for?  The hakko is excellent but a lot of money if it’s only going to be used once or twice a year.  
  • martinwmartinw Frets: 2149
    tFB Trader
    Xytronic are good value.
  • SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7041
    tFB Trader
    I've got two Atten AT938D soldering stations. One is to fix the other when it breaks.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • sixstringsuppliessixstringsupplies Frets: 429
    tFB Trader
    Depending on your budget and usage - I would recommend the hakko as mentioned above but if you want cheaper the Atten is also very good. I got over years usage out of the atten before it broke down (that includes soldering every single day for a year) 
    For Modders, Makers, Players

https://sixstringsupplies.co.uk/

Our YouTube Channel for handy "How-To" Wiring Tutorials
  • sixstringsuppliessixstringsupplies Frets: 429
    edited March 2018 tFB Trader
    I've got two Atten AT938D soldering stations. One is to fix the other when it breaks.
    Haha wisdom appropriately applied I got a good year’s usage out of the Atten and when it broke I didn’t have a spare iron to fix it! 
    For Modders, Makers, Players

https://sixstringsupplies.co.uk/

Our YouTube Channel for handy "How-To" Wiring Tutorials
  • SporkySporky Frets: 28457