The first electric guitar, or bass, you ever owned?

What's Hot
124»

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72488
    edited April 2018
    Skipped said:
    Always fun to revisit this topic.

My first electric guitar was a Roger 54 model. Exactly like the one in the picture.
    My Dad (sadly missed) was an Engineer by trade and was deeply unimpressed with the plywood Egmond or Framus guitars that the salesman was offering to us. 
    He suggested to the salesman that surely there must be something better than this.......maybe a second hand guitar instead?
    The guy went in the back and came back with the Roger in a Selmer case (green lining). The guitar was very nicely constructed and had the lowest action I have seen in any guitar. My guitar teacher could not believe how easy it was to play. 

I think I've seen you post about that before - I can't remember what happened to it... I'm guessing you don't still have it?

I assume you know about Roger Rossmeisl - after who Wenzel named the brand, obviously - and his later connection with Rickenbacker.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SkippedSkipped Frets: 2371
    ICBM said:
    I think I've seen you post about that before - I can't remember what happened to it... I'm guessing you don't still have it?

I assume you know about Roger Rossmeisl - after who Wenzel named the brand, obviously - and his later connection with Rickenbacker.

No I don't have it. It is very strange. I didn't feel sentimental about it but I do feel attached to a year of birth guitar that came along much later.
    Yes - I do know about Wenzel, thank you.