Window wiper problemo... can you help?

skunkwerxskunkwerx Frets: 6881
Weird one here. 

Its a 2010 Renault Megane and only my rear wiper is affected. 

It still works, but if I turn it on it will consantly wipe for about 10 seconds then just stop anywhere it pleases.

Isually if I hold the button to mist the rear window with wiper fluid, it wipes once, pauses then wipes again and returns to its stationary position. 

However even doing that it just wipes constantly for around 10 secs then stops where it pleases.

Once its stopped wherever it likes, its non responsive for like a minute or two no matter what buttons I press. But eventually it will work again but just repeat the same problem. 

I’m no mechanic but I presume as the wiper does actually wipe, that the motor, fuse and the switches are not the problem. Do wipers have a module that could be at fault?

My previous focus had an instance where water got in the bulkhead in the engine bay and damaged a gem module which resulted in no front wiper function once.
Ford wanted £500 odd for that..

So is there anything I can try at home first?

cheers all!
The only easy day, was yesterday...
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72415
    I wonder if the microswitch that tells it when it's back at the rest position is faulty? I'm fairly sure that goes 'open' when the wiper is at rest so it prevents the cycle starting again. If it's not making good contact when it's supposed to be 'closed', the wiper will just stop anywhere.

Or at least, that's how old-fashioned mechanical/relay ones work - but I don't know if the modern ones do. If it is the cause, the switch will be on the wiper motor body somewhere.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski