I don't have a dog to eat my homework. Q about Experimental Design

What's Hot
GrunfeldGrunfeld Frets: 4038
edited May 2018 in Off Topic
Long shot but no harm asking cos I'm stuck. 
Back story:  I have to write a case for support for funding a bit of research based on a  previous bit of research [this is an assignment for the MSc I'm doing].  The problem is:  the "bit of previous research" is quantitative and... I have no background in designing quantitative research.  (I've not been able to think of a qualitative follow up but this might be my best option still.)
So....
As it's a case for support I don't need a heroic amount of stats -- just enough to show I'm not as dumb about this as I really am.
Follow up experiment has 2 variables.
I'm hoping that would be a 2x2 factorial design? 
But...
what if you wanted to run those 2 variables on two different groups?  Would that be a shit-load extra statistical analysis which I'd clearly show my ignorance of?

To flesh it out:
Imagine you want to cause volunteers some experimental pain.
You've got two variables.  (1) metaphors about the pain; (2) suggestions for being able to tolerate  the pain.
So you run 4 groups:  1+2; just 1; just 2; neither
This experiment has been done already. 

To progress the research you could run it again on two types of people:
People trained in practice A
People great at talent B.

My dumb question forum people is:  is the A, B variation too difficult for a statistical ignoramus like me to attempt to describe?
I know "too difficult" is vague.  I think I may have answered my own question here.  I don't know enough about stats to even know what question I'm asking!!
I'm gonna go qualitative!  It's the only thing I know (and I'm okay at that). 
Err, as you were!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10418
    Wow Oli I was so bored reading that my advice is to get a dog :)
    www.2020studios.co.uk