Gil Yaron pickups

What's Hot
bdmaniabdmania Frets: 2

Hi I am a newbie here

Anyone experienced this nice pickups?

I am using Gibson les paul R9 Tom Murphy aged and I do not like the stock pickups

I need one with more clear and rich sound, people around me recommend this one

Will that be a good choice? Better than other boutique pickups?

Price doesn't really matter to me... only sound matters

Thanks

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• brooombrooom Frets: 1175
    edited May 2018
    If price is no objection to you. The ones I would probably try are K&T pickups. The winder is the same guy who created DRY Z pickups for maxon/greco in the 80s. I have a couple of guitars with the DRY Z and they sound as good if not better then most vintage PAFs I've tried.

The K&T are currently produced, using NOS wire unfortunately they are very expensive, as in ridiculously expensive.

I'm also curious to try OX4s with alnico 3 magnets and in fact I'm going to have them in a guitar quite soon.

http://music.geocities.jp/kt_vintage_guitars/kthomepage/03ktlimited.html#nosweep

http://music.geocities.jp/kt_vintage_guitars/kthomepage/03ktlimited.html#nnw
  • DominicDominic Frets: 16119
    I have to say I'm not a big fan of OX4.....very articulate but I find they can be very bright and I have played 4 different guitars with them in .
    I like Lollar Imperials or Throwback...........I also very much like the Seth Lover PAF which sounds superb although they are very feedback prone .......in fact, these were the best sounding to my ears but could be a bit microphonic
  • meltedbuzzboxmeltedbuzzbox Frets: 10339
    I love the way how these threads inevitably turn into a massive list of pretty much everything. 

So I will help it along a little

Seymour Duncan's antiquities
    Mojo pickups
    Monty's pickups
    Oil city pickups
    Bare knuckle pickups
    Emgs
    DiMarzio
    Alegree
    Tone riders

And I'm bored