Motivation - what keeps you playing?

What's Hot
LordOxygenLordOxygen Frets: 319
edited July 2018 in Guitar
I've been playing guitar for the last 3-4 years (having played as a young teenager 25 yrs ago). My desire to play comes in waves. A few weeks playing is generally followed, for no apparent reason, with 1 month+ of not picked up the guitar at all. This has obviously stalled my progess, 2 steps forward 1.5 steps back type of thing.

Recently, as in the last 4+ months I've been playing more or less everyday. I'd go as far to say I actually look forward to 9pm which is when i have an hour or so to practice. 

I think for me learning new songs and more importantly persevering to learn songs properly, has made the difference. I'm just wondering when my next inevitable break will occur? If at all possible I'd like to postpone it indefinitely.

What motivates you to keep picking up your guitar?

Id be interested to know if anyone else sufferes with semi regular, self imposed gaps in their playing?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TheBigDipperTheBigDipper Frets: 4809
    I just love the way you need to be in the moment when you're playing - be it practice or performance (even just to the cat). 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 11858
    I often struggle with this myself, why am I not as good as I should be, I should be practising, RARGHH, etc...

Then I get a moment of clarity and think I'm doing it for fun, so I should be saying "I will pick up a guitar and play it, for it will be fun" and then when it isn't, I'll put it down again.

Progressing and getting better will happen when it happens, but with a young family and a job that sometimes stresses my butt right out, I need to fit guitar into that as a hobby and source of pleasure, not as another responsibility.