Guitars you hate...

What's Hot

Comments

• usedtobeusedtobe Frets: 3842
    Tree of life inlays.
     so if you fancy a reissue of a guitar they never made in a colour they never used then it probably isn't too overpriced.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • BucketBucket Frets: 7751
    Some interesting stuff on this thread! Hate seems too strong a word for many of you but I really do hate matt black goth/metal guitars with EMGs in. As well as some of the music they're responsible for... Otherwise, there are guitars I struggle to get on with/dislike the look of, but I don't hate them - like Les Pauls, Jaguars, Burns, jazz boxes etc...

Other stuff I hate that others have touched on though - gold hardware, locking trems, cream neck binding (now I really fucking hate that - looks and feels cheap and nasty)...

Honestly, despite being an occasional metal guitarist myself (much less so than I used to be) I really dislike those sorts of guitars as well - B.C. Riches, Schecter Hellraisers and the like. I don't mind some pointy shapes provided they actually work ergonomically, like the non-Razorback Dean ML and the Flying V, but the spikier-than-thou BRVTAL shapes beloved of thirteen year-olds are almost uniformly awful. And Schecter Hellraisers with their horrific binding/quilt veneer/placenta red combination.

Matt black is always, always wrong on guitars as well... and I find plain old black rather boring. Then again I don't particularly want a garish quilted top finished in either trans red or trans black (it's never anything else, is it). Give me a nice solid colour any day.

What I want from a metal guitar is a comfortable body, a fast neck, 24 easily accessible frets and high-quality, high-output pickups.

Much like my Jackson Soloist. It's bright green, which helps.
    - "I'm going to write a very stiff letter. A VERY stiff letter. On cardboard."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom