Another baritone question (brands etc)

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• what budget?
    what scale length?
    what tuning?
    what style?

Well, I'm not a pro, so not a pro budget. The neck I ordered is a tele neck, so it'll be a tele body. I'd probably keep it as a standard tele setup. Will tune B to B/C to C.

Mainly indie, alt rock, clean, just breaking up. I won't be playing heavy metal.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11943
    what budget?
    what scale length?
    what tuning?
    what style?

Well, I'm not a pro, so not a pro budget. The neck I ordered is a tele neck, so it'll be a tele body. I'd probably keep it as a standard tele setup. Will tune B to B/C to C.

Mainly indie, alt rock, clean, just breaking up. I won't be playing heavy metal.
    what scale length?

Beware of how muddy the sound can get, I've found humbuckers rarely work
  • It will be a 27.7 scale neck. I'll keep the tele tuners, as standard.
    edited October 2018
    It will be a 27.7 scale neck. I'll keep the tele tuners, as standard.
    OK, so my advice is, and it's a personal taste thing: don't try to go too low with that scale length
    My findings are that there is a sweet spot for gauge and tuning for each scale length. For my 27 inch blacktop baritone, it's D-D with normal strings or one gauge up. my 30 inch ones do B-B fine with full on baritone gauge sets.
    The result is that if you go too low and too heavy a gauge,  the instrument stops sounding like a guitar, which is not what I want - but is exactly what some people are looking for of course.

I use this site to work out what gauges can work:
    http://vinic.free.fr/strings/
    try to keep the tensions close to your normal gauge and tuning
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Good to know. I've seen some hard rock guys play regular scale guitars tuned down. I'm going to aim to tune to B in any case.