Reverb - Original Lifton case from the 50's?

What's Hot
Im no expert but isn't this just a custom shop outer shell with an old interior? 

https://reverb.com/item/13281308-gibson-les-paul-lifton-hardcase-circa-1950-s-five-latch-1959
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• DanielsguitarsDanielsguitars Frets: 3297
    tFB Trader
    That doesn't look right to me, the outer colour and condition looks wrong too, scam comes to mind

I'm not an expert so hopefully someone else will chime in
    www.danielsguitars.co.uk
    (formerly customkits)
  • @iain.reverb Can you offer any help on this?
  • IvisonGuitarsIvisonGuitars Frets: 6839
    edited August 2018 tFB Trader
    If that’s a 50’s Lifton then I’m Bernie Clifton....
    http://www.ivisonguitars.com
    (formerly miserneil)
  • @iain.reverb Can you offer any help on this?
    It does look like a new case, but I'm no expert. I'll flag it and see if one of my collegaues can take a more educated look. Why don't you send the seller a message, for further info/pics ?
    I work for http://www.reverb.com/uk Any questions, queries, complaints, Drop me a line.

Remember to check out our Bank Holiday Sale 15% off New, Used and Vintage
    https://reverb.com/uk/sales/bank-holiday-sale

• jimmyguitarjimmyguitar Frets: 2473
    It’s definitely a reissue case with replacement lining. I have an original 50’s Lifton case here in front of me! 
  • ESchapESchap Frets: 1428
    It’s definitely a reissue case with replacement lining. I have an original 50’s Lifton case here in front of me! 

I've got a couple here as well. The hard-wear looks right as well as the lining.  Perhaps it is an original case that had lost its outer covering and has been recovered with the same stuff Gibson use now?
  • ESchapESchap Frets: 1428
    Actually, just looked again on a bigger screen and the hard wear looks like modern that's been "aged"   So fake news .
  • BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24581