Finished pics! Dreadnought for me?

What's Hot

Comments

• Temporarily back from grandparenting so thought I should try and crack on.

The swift logo is easier done before I cut out the headstock shape:

MEamAihljpg

Also popped a swift onto the heel cap.  Here the heel cap is being glued at the same time as a couple of wing blocks for the headstock:

h1h0ziDljpg

The heel cap looks like this:

lA63tk4ljpg

And a quick mock up with the cut out headstock plate:

9P4nrCLljpg

I've never tried it before, but I'm going to see if I can bend some purfling all the way round the headstock to just add a finishing touch.  I'll try that tomorrow...

0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • What is nice about building for yourself is that you can try new things (well, new to me) without experimenting on someone else's build.

Never tried binding a headstock plate before but I reckon this works pretty well:

lQgLH1Qljpg

I cut and filed the neck fairly closely so there's no chance of accidentally taking off the binding when cutting the neck headstock outline:

9VxSCvIljpg

...and ready to glue.

81xySzQljpg

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Yes  - happy with that:

oOmPsjUljpg

What with all the dashing around this last week, I've only just ordered the trussrod so can't fit the fretboard and carve the neck yet.  

Still, plenty more to do in the meantime - not least the final sanding and finishing on the body, which needs to be done in any case before the neck and bridge can be fitted.

As always, by the way, thanks for the great feedback! :)

0reaction image LOL 5reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Looking good
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I've just stumbled onto this thread and I am amazed and amused in equal measures. I cannot wait to see the finished article.

Thanks for sharing, it is brilliant.

• Thanks, folks :)