Peavey 6505 Valve Question...

What's Hot
SlimbertSlimbert Frets: 337
I have a 60w 2x12 Peavey 6505 combo.

I absolutely love the amp but I'm looking for any tips to warm up the sound a little. With the standard valves the amp is very bright and I prefer warmer chunky tones.

I've read that changing the V1 valve can make quite a difference. I'm certainly not looking to change the whole set of valves.

In case it's important everything is stock and basically brand new. I run the amp with a 2x12 extension cab from the extension output on the rear.

I'm fairly new to valves having used solid state amps exclusively for over 20 years so please go easy on me!

Any advice will be genuinely appreciated.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• the output valves do have a major influence on the sound of the amp.  V1 does have the most influence.  If I remember correctly the amp uses Sovtek valves which are already pretty good. Perhaps you could check inside and see what is fitted. My choice would have been Tung Sol 6L6GC-STR and a Tung Sol 12AX7 in V1.  The biggest influence in the amp is the tone stack. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • the output valves do have a major influence on the sound of the amp.  V1 does have the most influence.  If I remember correctly the amp uses Sovtek valves which are already pretty good. Perhaps you could check inside and see what is fitted. My choice would have been Tung Sol 6L6GC-STR and a Tung Sol 12AX7 in V1.  The biggest influence in the amp is the tone stack. 
    Forgive my ignorance but how would I buy a single valve for V1 that would match the rest of the preamp valves? Or does it not matter? Would I need to set the bias etc? I really do know bugger all about valves!
  • bright could be all of your signal chain ?

what guitar(s)  ?  pickups ? fx ?  amp / tone settings / speakers ?