Thoughts on this 1974 CSL Les Paul Custom

What's Hot
ShrewsShrews Frets: 3067
Complete beginner searching for his first electric, but no idea on what to look for.  I've spotted this on preloved and £100 appears reasonable.  It's a 1974 edition but no idea if that means it's a good thing or whether it'll perform like an old 1974 car, ie not as good as a new one!

There are some pics here:

https://www.preloved.co.uk/adverts/show/118128396/left-hand-csl-les-paul-custom-plus-marshall-10w-combo.html?link=/search?keyword=left+handed+electric+guitar&minimumPrice=100&maximumPrice=250

Again, I'm not sure how much can be spotted via a picture and whether any of the eagle-eyed amongst you can spot anything.  Any advice would be appreciated. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I have a Maccaferri acoustic type by CSL, dating from 1976. Not the real thing by any stretch but the quality is not bad. If you find it playable and you don't mind the tone, then £100 is not (IMO) an unreasonable price.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24849
    edited September 2018
    My first electric was a 1975 CSL Telecaster Custom copy - a decent Japanese built guitar - CSL was a ‘house’ brand of distributors Summerfield. 

If everything works and the frets are ok, I agree with @Phil_aka_Pip - decent value at £100.
  • johnljohnl Frets: 2011
    For another £50 I think you'd probably have a much better time with this:

https://www.thomann.de/gb/harley_benton_sc_450pluslh_hb_vintage_series.htm?sid=a1261240fcd37dedc141a2effd6fa4e6
  • If you need a LHanded guitar the choice is always a bit limited. So, if this deal includes the amp & it's working, 100 probably isn't bad at all.