NGD: MIJ Les Paul Content

What's Hot
beed84beed84 Frets: 2418
I say NGD, it's been about a month since I've had it; however, this isn't necessarily what this post is about. It's more about having some sort of epiphany.

Since the age of 16 I always wanted a Les Paul. After seeing Slash play a gold top, it was love at first sight. I had to have one. Alas, I've never had an actual Gibson Les Paul, nor have I had a gold top; but if I pull my finger out maybe one day I will. Again, this isn't what this post is about.

Over the years I've owned and played strats, teles, JJs, Gordon Smith, Carvin, Hofner, Yamaha Pacifica, and so on, never really satisfied and wanting something more. You don't need me to tell you about GAS.

During an episode of GAS I had a few years ago (Jesus, has it really been that long?), and although I was a mature student at the time, I pulled the trigger on MIJ 80s Aria Pro II Les Paul copy paid in full by student finance. I'd seen a youtube video and needed to have that sound in my life. I felt like a teenager again. It arrived, was tobacco sunburst in colour, and after changing out the pickups for some hand wound alnico IIs, it sounded and played great. It looked the part too. I loved it.

But me being me, and struggling to juggle classical and electric duties, I sold the Aria thinking I'd done the right thing. I just couldn't quite get on with the sound. Maybe a Les Paul wasn't for me after all.

After that point, I'd vowed never to have a Les Paul or single cut guitar ever again. I'd come to the conclusion that, even though I really wanted a Les Paul to work for me, they never would. Although I would have moments of regret, weirdly missing a guitar that didn't quite do it for me subsequently chastising myself for thinking such thoughts.