Confused About Grover Rotomatics

What's Hot
Duppy03Duppy03 Frets: 104
I’ve been looking to buy a set of Grovers for my Gibson but am pretty baffled by models and prices etc.

The price of the standard 102 model seems to fluctuate wildly from varying sellers. And are the Grovers you get on a fairly inexpensive Epiphone SG model the same as you get on an expensive Gibson 335?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• historyisjunkhistoryisjunk Frets: 500
    edited September 2018
    I'm not an expert in these & I don't know what the kind on the Epiphones are like. What I would say is be careful, if they're really cheap they're probably fakes. You might find that even after import "handling charges"; VAT; carriage that you might get a good deal on some from the US as they are not that expensive there- it's getting them here that bumps them up. It'd probably be marginal though.
    I think a good way to tell the fakes is they don't have properly cast buttons, there's videos on YouTube about telling the difference.

BTW, if your Gibson has the Kluson type tuners with the smaller bushings you'll need to ream the holes out to take the Grovers, but you probably know that.

There seem to be two basic models, the usual Rotomatics with the larger casing & flatter foot print for contact on the back of the head-

And the older design "Milk Bottle" type-

You can get locking versions of the former (standard on a lot of modern Gibsons) & also keystone shaped metal buttons instead of the kidney bean round ones.

Aesthetically I like the milk bottles best.

• Duppy03Duppy03 Frets: 104
    Oh no! I didn't realise fake ones were a 'thing' too.

The Gibson I've got (a Midtown) originally came with Grovers but got refitted with big nasty Gotohs and I'd like to go back to kidney style Rotomatics.
  • GluedtoMusicGluedtoMusic Frets: 74
    tFB Trader