The Fretboarder conundrum

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• beed84beed84 Frets: 2442
    Sporky said:
    I do find it odd how resistant many people are to having lessons. 
    I guess it all depends on a persons level of commitment and whether or not they're disciplined enough to practice properly after they've had a lesson.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FreebirdFreebird Frets: 5821
    edited October 2018
    Sporky said:
    Most of the players I aspire to are self-taught, and I often wonder if this is what made them unique?
    If we are not ashamed to think it, we should not be ashamed to say it.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • carloscarlos Frets: 3518
    Freebird said:
    Sporky said:
    Most of the players I aspire to are self-taught, and I often wonder if this is what made them unique?
    Almost all the players I aspire to had some lessons at some point, either a full uni degree or at least comprehensive lessons. It didn't make them into the players they are, but it (probably) helped structure their progress.
  • SporkySporky Frets: 29044
    Freebird said:
    Sporky said:
    Probably not. I don't sound like the other people who have lessons from the same teacher. 

No teacher is going to brainwash all their students into playing the same stuff, even if that was possible. But they will help solve technique issues so you can play what you want to play, but more easily. 
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • What is this word "need" all about ;)
    Only a Fool Would Say That.
  • DLMDLM Frets: 2513
    carlos said:
    p90fool said:
    Sporky said:
    It's rock n roll innit? 

Not joking btw, I've always wanted to sound more like Link Wray than like an advertising jingle. 
    Learn how to play advertising jingles, only £40 a lesson.