New Hummingbird isn't really flying...

What's Hot
mli3mli3 Frets: 206
So I was super excited to get my Hummingbird from Kenny's on their good deal, got it on Tuesday but didn't open it up until last night when I knew I had a free evening. 

I've always wanted one, especially in the cherry colour, but when I started playing it I was not blown away. I wanted to be blown away, but wasn't. Then I picked up my J-45 and instantly smiled again.. 

Shame really - I wanted to love it and keep it. Will have some more time with it over the weekend I guess, but I'm mildly gutted that it isn't doing it for me right now.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Does it sound like a slightly soggy cardboard box, and appear to have been constructed by the shop apprentice? That was my recent experience with one. Be glad of the return policy :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • The variation in tone, resonance etc. etc. between seemingly identical models of guitar can be massive. For some brands the variation isn't too bad... but that's not been my experience of Gibson acoustics. Sadly, I think you need to play them before buying. 
    I could be in the market for a Hummingbird... at the prices that Kenny's have got them. However, buying remote is too risky for me.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • mli3mli3 Frets: 206
    The variation in tone, resonance etc. etc. between seemingly identical models of guitar can be massive. For some brands the variation isn't too bad... but that's not been my experience of Gibson acoustics. Sadly, I think you need to play them before buying. 
    I could be in the market for a Hummingbird... at the prices that Kenny's have got them. However, buying remote is too risky for me.