Company in Admin - Debit Card Purchase

What's Hot
Lady Bristol’s wedding dress supplier has gone into administration today, so 9 weeks before our wedding she has no dress and we have lost £1,000  :p

I think I know the answer to this but do I have any chance whatsoever of getting this money back via my bank or VISA given that it was a debit card and not a credit card?

A sucky situation all round, but getting the money back would soften the blow a little. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Probably not from the bank but find out who the administrator is and call them. They will have an idea of what assets are available and what creditors will get back if anything. 

I play guitar and take photos of stuff. I also like beans on toast.

• Emp_FabEmp_Fab Frets: 24387
    I'm no expert but ever since watching this video  from 43m15s on, I buy everything on a credit card and pay it off each month.

I don't think your chances are high my friend.
    Lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on mine.
    Chips are "Plant-based" no matter how you cook them
    Donald Trump needs kicking out of a helicopter
    I'm personally responsible for all global warming
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • I believe Visa debit offers the same protection as their credit does. Have faith.
  • SporkySporky Frets: 28502
    And if the administrator doesn't help, get onto the bank. Nicely. This looks like the sort of situation where asking nicely gets things done. 
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 5reaction image Wisdom
  • BRISTOL86BRISTOL86 Frets: 1920
    Thanks folks. Already been in touch with administrators and looking highly unlikely we will get the dress. 

Will get onto the bank tomorrow and hope for the best. 
  • darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 11800
    Good luck mate.

Hope your other half is OK as well.