A newbie at pedal building

What's Hot
Hi all
I've decided to have a crack at building a simple distortion pedal (following this because i thought I had better start easy https://www.instructables.com/id/Make-an-easy-guitar-distortion-pedal-STEP-BY-STEP/ ), and I wondered if anyone had any advice on what to do and what not to do. 

cheers

Gabe
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7771
    edited November 2018
    I'd start with a fuzzdog kit before you branch out into drilling cases and vero board (the yellow circuit board in that link) That way you can also get a "classic" design and the components sourced for you. 
  • well I feel quite confident doing those kind of things. I'm new to pedals but not to wiring and some bits of robotics. my practical skills are fine, it's just I have some doubts that it's all transferable and that I might fall into some dumb habits that don't work well for audio products.
  • That’s an interesting approach, but you’d end up with a much more usable pedal with a fuzzdog kit.
  • Always double check your component orientation, can’t tell you how many times i’ve been sure I got everything right, then discovered I had a polarised electrolytic in backwards.

Same goes for power, it’s easier than you think to wire positive and negative back to front sometimes. Sounds stupid but I’ve done it a shameful amount of times. Also make sure you’re not using an AC power supply, that’ll fry your pedal most of the time.

For transistors and chips use sockets, those can get fried by using too much heat, or heating them for too long. It’s much easier to swap them around if you have them in the wrong way (again, that happens all too often, especially if you’re me) and you can also easily try out different types and combinations without having to desolder everything.