Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Martial Arts

What's Hot
124»

Comments

• munckeemunckee Frets: 12376
    munckee said:
    FarleyUK said:
    Quick update for anyone curious -

- Done two judo classes now, and while I enjoy it, the logic doesn't make sense to me so far; I'm used to not relying on my strength. Been told in doing amazingly well for two lessons though...
    - Also, screwed my knee up last night at class..!
    - Taijitsu was a non starter; the senior class was just a load of brown belt 16 year olds. Felt very weird and not confident in the way it was taught 
    - Original Jiu Jitsu lesson was cancelled, going again on Monday (assuming knee is better!)
    How did ju jitsu go?  I studied that for a few years, my brother is a 2nd dan instructor.  I think its a very good all round martial art, lots of focus on deflecting or avoiding the first punch which is one of the most useful things.

The other added benefit is while running this afternoon I fully tripped over something on the ground in a nature reserve and without having trained for 10 years I managed a break fall roll and carried on running without breaking my stride.  Even got polite applause from two old ladies walking their dogs : )

Quick update, hurt all over today : )
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FarleyUKFarleyUK Frets: 2400
    There's around 60 or so recognised throws in judo, so you'll find a few that work for you.

I'm taller and heavier than most of the people I train with and I can't make a lot of throws work, but the ones I like I can make work pretty much all the time.

Stick at it and you'll find your throws/hold downs/ submissions.