Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Guitarist subbing on bass

What's Hot
13»

Comments

• I'm a guitarist but switched to bass several years ago as it's the only way to get gigs. At jams I was the one who thought their guitar chops weren't good enough and played bass.

I started off banging 8th notes on the root but started playing fills around the changes and learning or developing proper lines.

I started using the plectrum less as my grip got worse from carpal tunnel and play mostly with fingers now.

Try to match your notes with the kick first. Then any time the drummer hits something.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72415

Try to match your notes with the kick first. Then any time the drummer hits something.
    This. The interesting thing is that - as long as you don’t play out of key - timing is far more important than the notes you play. I was watching that BBC drum/bass/guitar series the other night, where Bootsy Collins says that James Brown told him that as long as he was tight on the 1, whatever he wanted to do the rest of the time was fine. Obviously that works best if you have the natural talent and groove of Bootsy, but it’s a good place to start anyway.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • jpfampsjpfamps Frets: 2734
    ICBM said: