Gibson Dirty Fingers pickup problem - out of phase no matter what. Help!

What's Hot
So, I'm the worst guy for switching pickups/electronics but I have SOME knowledge.

I've an Epi Riviera (80s Matsumoku) that has a replaced bridge pickup. I didn't know what it was until I did some work on it recently and found the PAT number on the bottom. It seems to be an original Gibson Dirty Finger(s?!).

The problem I have is that it always sounded out of phase in the middle position. I really like the middle position on semis so when I first took it to a tech (for a fret dress and a few other bits) I asked him to put it back to normal. I forget why he never actually did this but when I went back to collect it it seemed to boil down to the fact that he hadn't been bothered enough to do it. (Didn't use HIM again...)

ANYWAY... I noticed the pickup had been mounted upside down as the little holes in the bobbin were in the wrong place. So when I did a string change I thought I'd swap it up the other way and that would put it back in phase. Right?

Wrong. It's still out of phase. I'm not about to dive in there as I haven't got a clue what I'm doing and can't solder to save my life but does this have anything to do with the Dirty Fingers having screws in both coils? Has it just been wired wrong? Why didn't flipping it sort the phase issue?

Anyone who has any idea about this sort of thing?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• PS: I know how ridiculous the idea of having the world's highest gain pickup in a semi is. It was already in there when I got it, honest, gov!
  • simonhpiemansimonhpieman Frets: 684
    edited February 2019
  • SeshSesh Frets: 1850