How to tell if the Valves need changing in a 2nd hand amp

What's Hot
adampeteradampeter Frets: 775
I have a 2nd hand Marshall jubilee 2525c currently winging its way to me, was a very good deal and i have wanted one for a long while.
Is there an easy way to tell if all is ok on the Valve front? should you change them just to be sure?
Never bought a 2nd hand valve amp and i've spent a long time playing through a helix and FRFR system, so my ears need to get tuned back into a real amp sound.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• guitartangoguitartango Frets: 1028
    i think you can gently tap the tube with a pencil, if it makes a strange noise then it needs to be replaced, but then again i am no expert.... 
    “Ken sent me.”
  • munckeemunckee Frets: 12415
    I'm no expert on the subject but have bought 3 second hand valve amps.  I've only changed a valve once when there was clearly an issue and it needed a new power valve.  I wouldn't change unless you think there is an issue.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72574
    Turn the amp on and play through it. If it sounds like you expect/want a Jubilee to sound, it's fine.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • Modulus_AmpsModulus_Amps Frets: 2595
    tFB Trader
    ICBM said:
    Turn the amp on and play through it. If it sounds like you expect/want a Jubilee to sound, it's fine.
    Also make sure the power valves are not red plating (red glow on the large plates)

Also, if it is being shipped to you make sure the valves are all seated correctly before turning on for the first time.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
    Modulus_Amps said: