My Mod800 (Modulus Amps) build

What's Hot
FenderishFenderish Frets: 47
edited March 2019 in Amps
My first amp build courtesy of Modulus Amp. I had prior experience in servicing amps (mine and friends' not professionally) but I wanted to try my own this time and loved it.

Then after a while I added a bright  3-position switch and a cathode/clipper switch and reverted from PPIMV to the classic MV and switched tubes to TAD :

I especially love the cathode/clipper switch because it allows me to switch from a classic JCM800 clipping to a plexier clipping
It roars ! Love it a lot !

I'm a beginner so it's not as tidy as it could be, yet I have absolutely no hum or noise abnormal noise issue, i could even say it's less noisy than all my previous pcb based amps. I use it with a Marshall 4x12 1960AX (with greenbacks) and it's a killer halfstack
0reaction image LOL 12reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• It looks like a great job to me. Somebody's shrunk your speaker cab though! ;-)
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • barneydbarneyd Frets: 15
    Looks very nice!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FenderishFenderish Frets: 47
    It looks like a great job to me. Somebody's shrunk your speaker cab though! ;-)
    yeah My 4x12 wasn't home the day I plugged it in, sadly :)
  • SassafrasSassafras Frets: 30290
    I'm more interested in how you've mounted four 12" speakers in that little cab. I suppose they're front, back and side mounted. Makes for a novel arrangement.
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    :lol: 
  • thermionicthermionic Frets: 9617
    Great work - very neat. Now I want to build another one myself, that looks considerably more complicated than the ones I've built.
  • clarkefanclarkefan Frets: 808
    edited March 2019
    Nice! Proper big transformers!

Curious why you binned the PPIMV? 
    edited March 2019