NGD (Crimson Build Content)

crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11472
edited May 2019 in Guitar
I went to Crimson a month ago on one of their guitar building courses.  Didn't quite get the guitar finished while I was there.  Been a bit busy, but finally finished it today:

It's my first build, and it's not flawless, but it plays and sounds pretty good.

Bridge pickup is a Fender Custom Shop courtesy of @BintyTwanger77 in the classifieds.

Neck pickup is a Blitz Spirit from @OilCityPickups ;;

Body is chambered.  Went for the 3 a side headstock to avoid the need for string trees.  It's got a flash coat finish on it.

The control layout is not what I originally planned (was going to have a blade switch under the volume) but we had to salvage an accident, and the 3 way toggle neatly covered the hole I made in the top!

The course was hard work, but it's very rewarding to have something like this at the end of it.

Have to give a shout to to Christopher at Crimson who is a great tutor and has an incredible amount of patience.

Not sure if I have a phasing issue with the pickups as I've got a volume drop in the middle position.  That will be relatively easy to fix though.
0reaction image LOL 9reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SlopeSoarerSlopeSoarer Frets: 851
    Excellent! Being a serial tinker I'd love to do the Crimson course... one day I probably will.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • axisusaxisus Frets: 28347
    Looks cool! Tele is my fave shape, I love to see variants.
  • KittyfriskKittyfrisk Frets: 19031
    I'm liking the look of that, I'm jealous of your skills.
    And I really love the  ;) shaped control cover plate. 
    Proper FB DNA   :)
  • BintyTwanger77BintyTwanger77 Frets: 2236
    That looks fantastic, excellent work!
  • HenrytwangHenrytwang Frets: 473