curing the blues noodle

What's Hot

Comments

• blobbblobb Frets: 3015
    Trio +
    Feelin' Reelin' & Squeelin'
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • newi123newi123 Frets: 888
    are Jam nights or joining a band out of the question?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • joetelejoetele Frets: 952
    My favourite looper is the TC Electronic Ditto X2. The benefit of either playing with a looper or with other musicians is getting that inspiration from building on top of something simple. In technical terms I'm an awful guitarist despite having played for 26 years, but I just play very simple melodies and shapes that please me and embellish them with some pedals. 
    MUSIC: Pale Blurs
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16301
    My default in picking up a guitar is noodly blues crap . I have played in bands but there seems to be two halves of my brain doing different things. My gigs haven't required particularly complex playing but I've had to learn approaches that I wouldn't normally do and acquire some of the discipline around musicianship ( timing, dynamics, listening to others,etc). Playing a non guitar oriented track often doesn't require much music to be learned. Maybe an intro, short solo, verse riff, chorus chords,etc, and then putting it all together. Being the next Hendrix requires a lot more grit and determination and time than playing in an Amy Winehouse tribute or a wedding band or Bob Marley tunes at a jam night but those things are playing the guitar as part of a piece of music. If you struggle to challenge yourself then get other people to do it - they probably won't think of it that way of course, they'll just assume you wave your fingers and the right notes come out.        
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • prlgmnrprlgmnr Frets: 3992
    Do you write your own songs? Maybe that's more your style than learning other peoples.