BIAS FX in Reaper or any DAW

What's Hot
MoonrunnerMoonrunner Frets: 23
edited May 2019 in Studio & Recording
Hi all.

I have always sruggled achieving a decent metal/rock guitar sound for recording. Admittedly, I am a novice with mixing, etc.

My question would be, how do you folks here organise your guitar sounds, for example, EQ, compression, etc.

I use Reaper as my DAW and wondered if it is best to EQ the guitars in Reaper before fx or do all the eq-ing in the fx, and in this case I am using BIAS FX. Also, would it be beneficial to do some post EQ in the DAW?

I also recently used an EZ Mix package - Metal Gods III (I think is), but still can't seem to manage to get a decent tone in the DAW along with the other instruments.

I hope my post makes sense.

Cheers all!!!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• PolarityManPolarityMan Frets: 7293
    I dont really like Bias Fx tbh, I get much better results with helix native, STL Will Putney or even amplitube 4.

ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
    You should check out the free STL emmisary amp sim and the free le pou stuff and see if you get better results with those. 
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
  • equalsqlequalsql Frets: 6137
    edited May 2019
    I tend to use amp sims like Bias as the first part in my FX chain on a channel thus mimicking the rear world chain that you would use if using a real amp and pedal board. 

If I'm using virtual pedal plugins before the sim, I tend towards a dynamics -> modulation ->OD-> Echo FX chain.

After the sim I use my console 1 SSL SL4000E plugin which I put on all channels. This gives me gating,compression, eq and channel-drive options. I then add other effects, like reverb, generally after if required. Sometimes I used effects before the console 1, but usually only if I need a bit of surgical eq or need an effect not present in the amp sim.