Wattage for gigging?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• p90foolp90fool Frets: 31592
    Everyone preferred the price of the Lastone.
    :)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • GrunfeldGrunfeld Frets: 4038
    edited June 2019
    AlexC said:
    I’m also drooling over YT reviews of the Orange CR120c!
    I've been gigging with a CR120 head and 2x12 for several years now and absolutely love it.  Could wax lyrical on why but it all comes down to versatility for the music my band plays and it's lightweight, and takes pedals well.  You can get a lot of sounds from a CR120.

The HT20 Head is a cracking amp. Very loud with the right cab, and quite modestly priced compared to many others.
    This is indeed a cracking amp, very tidy gigging amp, and I had one in our rehearsal space.  The space has gone but the amp is HERE.  Great for gigging; great for rehearsals; great for home use.
    So that's me just pimping my Blackstar HT20 head.  I'm flexible on price too.  (There's a little backup amp in that listing too.)

• AlexCAlexC Frets: 2396
    edited June 2019
    Thanks all for thoughts/advice.
    to answer some questions and clarify some points -
    My budget at the moment is non existent. Can’t afford fuel for the car, let alone gear. I’m thinking of maybe a year down the line.
    Band I’m in is very diverse - new wave, alt rock with some singer songwriter style stuff. Think Blondie/Pretenders/Floyd type tones. So heavy, heavy distortion not really required.
    Yes - I use pedals.
    Would rather a combo than a head.
    Nothing wrong with existing Peavey other than it’s a modelling amp chock full of fx which is great for faffing about at home but lacks simplicity and ease of use in a live environment (for me anyway.)
    I’m also drawn to the Vox AV60. Tried the AV20 and thought that was a great amp.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72364