2»

Comments

• fastonebazfastonebaz Frets: 4153
    Www.songsterr.com
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ScratcherScratcher Frets: 2
    skunkwerx said:
    You're just starting out. 

All this by ear stuff is 100% the correct way to learn, but in my opinion not for starters, as in, if you can't play a couple songs thru yet. 

Thats a recipe for becoming bored and frustrated.

Justin guitar has a great lot of stuff for absolute beginners.

You can learn the techniques, some chords, notes etc whilst being told what to play, so you can concentrate on actually learning the physical aspect. 

At the end you've learnt some chords, got an idea about what to do and most importantly can actually play something through on your guitar to break up the routine. 

Once you've got the basics down, ie actually being able to hit a bunch of notes at tempo and know some chords, then start his ear training programme (justin guitar) and have the discipline to build it in. 

Trick is not letting tablature become habit. But for people just starting out its necessary. 

What kind of music/songs do you want to play? 
    What do you want to get out of guitar? 

Make sure your practice lines up with the goals. 

I like most rock songs but am keen to learn anything that sounds like it should.
    I am following justinguitar lessons but feel I am stalling.
    As to what I want to get out of a guitar.its something I wanted to learn something of a challenge and I want to play solely for enjoyment.
    It is something totally new to me.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • skunkwerxskunkwerx Frets: 6886
    Scratcher said:
    skunkwerx said:
    You're just starting out. 

All this by ear stuff is 100% the correct way to learn, but in my opinion not for starters, as in, if you can't play a couple songs thru yet. 

Thats a recipe for becoming bored and frustrated.