9s or 10s

What's Hot

Comments

• scrumhalfscrumhalf Frets: 11396
    9's, I play with a light touch.

I was using 9-42s but I've switched to 9-46 on my Strat and it's an improvement. So far.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • thegummythegummy Frets: 4389
    Matt_McG said:
    thegummy said:
    The 10s are only not easy to bend if you're not used to them. 

For me, that isn't really true.

I've been playing guitar for 33 years, and I'm not the proverbial 9 stone weakling (not that there's anything wrong with that).  I'm 15 stone on a good day, and have fairly large hands, but I still find 10s slightly on the heavy side for full step or larger than full step bends, especially in lower positions on the neck. And as per my comment above, I have generally defaulted to 10s for most of the time I've been playing.
    Interesting.

When I first went to 10s they felt stiffer but got used to them quite quickly.

The last time I put 9s on just to try them out it felt incredibly loose and wimpy and I didn't feel I had enough control.

Maybe it's because I'm used to bass strings that I find the 10s fine, rather than if I had just been playing guitar and persevered with them.
  • Matt_McGMatt_McG Frets: 328
    I suspect we are all different in terms of how we adapt.

I like low tension strings on classical, too. Which are, actually, harder to play from a technique point of view, but which just sound and feel better to me.
  • LastMantraLastMantra Frets: 3825
    Could someone please explain to me why it is so common for people to use thicker strings in gbn-types and thinner on fdr-types?
    Never got that.
  • thegummythegummy Frets: 4389
    Could someone please explain to me why it is so common for people to use thicker strings in gbn-types and thinner on fdr-types?
    Never got that.
    The scale length s shorter so the same gauge of string feels slacker on a Les Paul than it does on a Strat / Tele
  • GrunfeldGrunfeld Frets: 4054