Dumb question, do I need a DI?

What's Hot
hugbothugbot Frets: 1528
edited May 2014 in Live
I've never tried DI'g a bass before, but lack of an amp for an upcoming tour means I'm seriously considering it.

I have a POD I was intending to use as preamp, Do I need a DI box of my own or is it something I can reasonably expect venues to have?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72774
    edited May 2014
    Not only can you reasonably expect the venue to, most sound engineers prefer you to use theirs.

That said it's probably not a bad idea to have one of your own as a backup. In fact, I'd probably get something like a Tech21 Bass Driver so you can use it as a backup preamp if the Pod goes down, too. Not cheap though.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• randomhandclapsrandomhandclaps Frets: 20521

Personally, I would never 'expect' any venue to have anything.  Way too much of a gamble.

If however you are going through the POD then you do not need a DI box as well.

My muse is not a horse and art is not a race.
  • hugbothugbot Frets: 1528
    I have no idea about DIs to be honest, as I understood it they convert the bad signal into nice signal and thats as much as I know. I assumed the signal coming from the POD might not be suitable for whatever reason.
  • randomhandclapsrandomhandclaps Frets: 20521
    The EBS Micro Bass 2 which can be had quite reasonably second hand is a phenomenal DI bass solution.
    My muse is not a horse and art is not a race.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • maltingsaudiomaltingsaudio Frets: 3155