Electo Acoustic options. Opinions please.

What's Hot

I seem to have wandered off down  rabbit hole.

Ive been playing for about 30 years and I have lots of electrics.  Early on in my playing I bought a dreadnought acoustic and I have dabbled with it from time to time but its a bit big and the string tension is a bit much compared to the electrics so it mostly just sits in the corner.

However a couple of weeks ago while away for the weekend with Mrs T we passed a small guitar shop (closed because it was Sunday) and in their window was a very nice looking Tanglewood twr sfce ii, electro acoustic.  I was taken by the relatively small and thin body and this has sparked my interest in acoustics again

Once home i started a bit of internet research and in the same price bracket as the Tanglewood I also find the Yamaha APX600 and the Fender Newporter.  All appear to be a similar shape and size and all get good reviews.

Unfortunately I can’t find a shop that stocks all three.  Many have one or two but to try all three would involve a lot of travelling.

So, has anyone got an opinion or alternatives that I should also consider. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11448

Don't know how much you want to spend, but some of the budget Martins can sound very good.  They are the ones made with non-traditional materials (HPL back and sides etc) but they do sound good - much better than a Yamaha APX in my opinion.  There is the small bodied one like Sheeran uses, or an OOO which is a bit bigger, but still significantly smaller than a dreadnought.

Regarding the string tension thing, that will still be an issue on a lot of those guitars.  It's to do with the heavier strings, and the fact that you want a bit more clearance off the frets to avoid buzzing, so the action will probably be a bit higher.