MFX aux out query

VoxmanVoxman Frets: 4729
edited September 2019 in Guitar
Older mfx pedals such as my Vox Tonelabs and even newer units such as the Zoom G5 have no aux out connection. But they do have a headphone connection socket. 

I know I'm not very technical so this is probably a really daft question and not possible...But can the headphone socket take an aux out too, and if so would a simple Y connector allow both headphones and aux device to be used at the same time?

Thanks guys

Rich
I started out with nothing..... but I've still got most of it left (Seasick Steve)
1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• VoxmanVoxman Frets: 4729
    I'm not thinking straight. Headphones are outputs, whereas aux is input. I think I've answered my own question. Bugger.  :'(
    I started out with nothing..... but I've still got most of it left (Seasick Steve)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72675
    You need a stereo splitter - what you would use for two pairs of headphones - and then a Y cable.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

ICBM said:
    You need a stereo splitter - what you would use for two pairs of headphones - and then a Y cable.
    Would that work? Great if it would but I thought an output socket couldn't be used for an input?
    Oh, I see... you want an aux *input* as well - I thought you meant an aux *output*.

If you want an input and the unit doesn't have one, no. You would need an external stereo mixer, which you would connect the headphone out jack and the aux source to, and then run headphones from that.