Rolling Mills or Blues Engines?

What's Hot
The idea of doing an AC/DC tribute has been thrown at me by some band friends, and I don't yet want to throw money at it in case it doesn't happen, so buying another SG isn't going to happen.

I've got my trusty old brown Epi with P90s in, but...

My current favourite dirty amp sound (Guvnor into my old Roland Cube which does DC pretty well using a strat with a hot-rail) doesn't like single coils at all, so if I want to use the SG, I'll need a pickup change.

I have been looking for an excuse to get a set of Irongears for ages so....

Anybody got experience with both Rolling Mills and Blues Engines?
And which one will get me closer to Angus (I realise that both will do it well enough, since I've been doing an okay job with a Hot Rail on a strat for the last 3 years for 4 DC tracks in the set)

Research says Rolling Mills, but how about real world usage?

If it goes well I suppose I'll have to get a Red SG Standard, but I don't like red SGs, so I'm hoping to find rare footage of Angus with a Pelham Blue with P90s in as I've always wanted one of them. Or a black strat with a hotrail, that would save me some money.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• longjawlongjaw Frets: 424
    Humbuckers won't fit in routing for P90s.
  • longjaw said:
    Humbuckers won't fit in routing for P90s.
    Sorry, should have mentioned, they're HB sized P90s that I put in to replace the original - now long gone - Epi HBs
  • I have Blues Engines in my Epi Dot & it sounds good for a bit of Rosie. If you want a hotter bridge, maybe try a Rolling Mill/Blues Engine combo? 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • I've just put a Blues Engine in the neck of my recent kit build from Jaden, along with a Dirty Torque in the bridge. It's a great combo that I'd highly recommend (indeed, Iron Gear suggest that combo themselves).