Total beginner needing advice.

Hi all,

Ive never got into home recording but I need to get some form of recording set up as I’m spending too much money writing parts whilst in the studio.

All I need is the capability to record multiple layers of guitars. I don’t need the ability to record drums. I just need to be able to record guitars via either plugging directly in or by using a mic on my amps. 

What would you all suggest?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BranshenBranshen Frets: 1222
    You could get a focusrite solo/2i2 and a Shure SM57. That's about as simple as you can get, but will still deliver good enough , if not great, quality.
  • shaunmshaunm Frets: 1598
    Branshen said:
    You could get a focusrite solo/2i2 and a Shure SM57. That's about as simple as you can get, but will still deliver good enough , if not great, quality.
    Thank you.

what would I plug that into?
    I assumed that you had a desktop or laptop computer to plug the equipment into. That's the normal setup! But you could also plug it into an ipad I believe.
    Branshen said:
    I assumed that you had a desktop or laptop computer to plug the equipment into. That's the normal setup! But you could also plug it into an ipad I believe.
    No I’m totally starting a new here. I haven’t bothered with a computer at home for some time.

Am I better going the IPad Route here rather than buying a laptop to do this job. To clarify this is a writing tool and not to be used for actual recording finalised versions.
    Better is subjective. It really depends on what you want to achieve. I think both would work for you as it sounds like your needs are pretty simple.

I can't comment on recording with an ipad, as I've never done it. But since it is a simpler device and more hands on, it might be easier to get into. 

How good are you with computers? Setting up a recording setup can be quite daunting and difficult as a beginner. 
    Branshen said: