HiFi and Speaker advice - £1k-£1.5k budget

What's Hot
Looking for some advice on hifi kit. 

Looking to play CDs and stream. Would like bookshelf size speakers. Happy to buy used. 

Saw the Kef LSX which look decent, but would like to explore a proper setup. Might look at vinyl in the future. 

Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TheMarlinTheMarlin Frets: 7877
    You can pair a superb pair of speakers with an awful amp, and they sound awful. So be careful committing to a large speaker spend if the money is better spent elsewhere. 
    I’ve been experimenting with hi-fi for 30+ years,   
    What’s your source, what amp will you be using, what about your speaker cable and interconnects?
    if we know more, we can advice you better. 
    Good luck & merry xmas
    Marlin

• Following this post with interest as I will be buying the same thing in the new year on a similar budget.

@TheMarlin particularly interested in what you might recommend for playing lossless/flac files. I have a Linn turntable and Rega Saturn CD (if it still works) player from years ago that I’ll be dusting off and firing up - so ok on that front. But, I have a load of flac files on my Mac that I transfer to a dedicated portable music player for the car. Until now, I haven’t listened properly to music in the house for years. 
  • Matt_McGMatt_McG Frets: 323
    I use a Raspberry Pi with a good quality DAC  hat board for streaming. Works really well. I have a Linn turntable (just an Axis, with a decent cartridge, nothing fancy) for vinyl and that plus that Pi can do everything I need as sources. I never actually play CDs just rip and stream to the Pi. 
  • TheMarlinTheMarlin Frets: 7877